Department of Education Learners First
Department of Education - Learners First
Slider Image One
Slider Image Two
Slider Image Three
Slider Image Four
Slider Image Five
Accessibility Bar



What is VET:

What is the TCEA?


Students complete two full years of study to obtain their Tasmanian Certificate of Education (TCE) which can include:

  • TASC courses
  • Vocational Education and Training (VET) offerings
  • School Based Apprenticeships

TASC courses are organised into levels of difficulty -

Preliminary level and levels 1, 2, 3 and 4 (with 4 being the most difficult).

Level 3 and 4 courses, also known as pre-tertiary courses can contribute to an Australian Tertiary Admission Ranking (ATAR). To be eligible for the calculation of an ATAR students must meet the requirements of the TCE. TASC courses contribute points towards your TCE attainment. A number of these courses provide an opportunity to meet the standards of Literacy, Numeracy and ICT that are required for TCE

A minimum of four TASC Level 3 or 4 courses are required to qualify for University admission with three of these required to be studied in a student's final year of study. It is recommended for students aiming for a University pathway to study five pre-tertiary courses over two years. Level 1 and 2 courses do not count towards an ATAR but do count towards the TCE and they can be preliminary or foundation study for a pre-tertiary program.